Try this tip for a better experience

Having technical problems on our website using this version of Internet Explorer?
If you're willing to try a new browser, we recommend Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome, for a better experience on our website as well as on others.
To download Firefox, click here. To download Chrome, click here. Both are free and easy to install.


The Tampa Bay Times Fund administers these scholarship programs:

ONLY students who are HIRED as part of the Summer Internship Program at the Times are eligible to apply for these awards. Scholarships are worth up to $3,000 for returning fulltime undergraduate students and up to $1,500 for returning full-time graduate students.

The Peggy Peterman Scholarship seeks to encourage diversity in media employment. It is worth $5,000 and includes a paid internship at the Tampa Bay Times. Applicants must be full-time undergraduate or graduate minority students who are committed to careers in journalism, with at least one newspaper or news website internship or equivalent professional experience. Deadline to apply is Nov. 1. Indicate in your application that you are applying for the Peterman Scholarship/News Internship. 

The Barnes Scholarship program has been suspended for 2019. Career Journalism Scholarships are no longer being offered. For more information, email

SUNSHINE OPPORTUNITY SCHOLARSHIPS offered through the Godbold Foundation Inc.

Applications for the 2019 Sunshine Opportunity Scholarships, sponsored by the Godbold Foundation Inc. of Tierra Verde, FL, are now available online. 

The scholarship application period opens November 1, 2018 and ends at midnight February 1, 2019. Winners will be notified by early April.

This award is worth $20,000 over four years ($5,000 per year). Applicants should be high achieving high school seniors in Hillsborough, Pasco or Pinellas counties who have overcome significant obstacles in life and who plan to attend a public university in Florida for their undergraduate studies. The scholarship may be used to attend a ONLY 4-year university in the state of Florida. Up to 10 scholarships will be awarded each year. 


If you have questions, send an e-mail to scholarship administrator, Nancy Waclawek at

Click here to apply.